View Full Version : Advice Needed- Finding a Coach

eliao
07-31-2002, 12:18 PM
I've been a longtime lurker from the FSW days, and I thought I'd finally post. I'm finally trying to commit myself to taking private lessons and finding an appropriate coach. I've been skating mainly recreationally for 7 years now, and have no formal training other than a year and a half of on and off group lessons. My skating has hit a standstill, and I really need some formal guidance from a coach who has the patience for an adult skater (I'm 29) who has developed a pile of bad habits teaching herself how to spin and jump all these years.

Any advice as to how to approach a coach? Which questions to ask? I would have hired my group lessons coach, but there's been lots of coaching turnover at the rinks in my area, and I have no idea where to begin looking.

Thanks for listening.

Emily

garyc254
07-31-2002, 02:45 PM
Welcome Emily. Glad to have you on board. :D

The best suggestion is to talk to others at your rinks about their coaches.

Ask them what they like and dislike about their coaches.

Watch and listen to a coach give a lesson to another skater.

A good coach will let you take a trial lesson without committing to them long term. Or they'll let you join in on one of their group lessons for a trial run.

The hardest thing I dealt with was trying to schedule available lesson time around my work schedule.

I prefer a coach with experience :wink: (in other words, over 35). They are less likely to move out of town or miss lessons. That's not to say younger coaches are bad as I know several that are terrific and stable.

When I started skating last year, I took private lessons from the beginning. I've never regretted it.

Gary

eliao
07-31-2002, 03:01 PM