View Full Version : ice dance lessons in chicago area?

AstarZ41
08-20-2004, 10:04 PM
I took a summer ice dancing class but now it's over and there are no fall classes offered at that rink. I checked a couple other rinks and they don't have anything either. :( Looks like my only option is getting a private coach but I'm only learning the basic dances so group lessons were just fine for memorizing the steps etc. So does anyone know if there are any dance classes offered in the Chicago area? I really want to continue doing it!

TashaKat
08-20-2004, 11:46 PM
Don't discount private dance lessons, you can dance with the coach which is such a great and weird experience :) I only ever did private lessons for dance and really enjoyed them.

Good luck, which dances are you doing?

SkateGuard
08-22-2004, 08:51 PM
It depends where you live. I have no idea south of I-90 (I'm a north 'burb person), but I would recommend contacting the Skokie Valley Skating Club. It's probably the strongest "dance" club in the area, and they may be able to lead you in group lessons. There used to be a low-level group dance class at my home rink, but our skating director decided to go on a cruise without setting half the LTS classes or the freestyle ice times....

However, do not discount private lessons at the lowest levels. I have never had a group dance class; I have always taken private lessons with my coach. We're both female, so I've been testing solo. There's a lot of good coaches, both male and female, and many are more than willing to take on a beginning skater, especially an "older" (over the age of 10) skater.

There is a dance test session on Sunday, so e-mail me privately if you are interested in going and seeing some of these coaches in action. I'll be there as well--I acquired a dance partner :) , so I'm going back and re-testing my prelims with a "hired hand" so I can compete this year. (My real partner needs to focus on the pre-bronzes and is out-of-state.)

Erin