View Full Version : Bunga pads question

Debbie S
05-29-2004, 08:21 PM
OK, this may sound silly, but I've never used Bunga pads before, so bear with me. I was wondering if they could be cut, as in scissors. I ordered the 5-inch ankle pads, and I noticed that they come up a bit high on my ankle, probably b/c I'm fairly short (for an adult, anyway).

I really just need them to cover the front of my ankle and the side bones, so I was thinking about cutting them, but I have no idea if that's recommended or even possible. Any thoughts?

And does anyone have any suggestions on what to do about those dry patches that result from "lace bite", on the front of the ankle? I got this foot care kit in the makeup section of a dept store a few days ago - it's got a pumice rub and then a moisturizer - but I'd be interested to know what people have tried that's worked. I'm hopeful that the Bunga pads will stop the "bite", and I really want to work on getting rid of the accumulated effects.

luna_skater
05-29-2004, 08:55 PM
I bought a bunga sleeve last year and just cut it in half so I would have one for each ankle. I also have the dry patch, and have had it so long that there is really no getting rid of it (been skating for 18 years). The bunga sleeves keep it from getting worse, however.

96.23??
05-29-2004, 09:14 PM
I cut mine in half too. Normal scissors work just fine for cutting through the bunga pads.

icedancer2
05-30-2004, 12:05 AM
Every skater I have ever known has that "dry patch" -- I wouldn't bother getting rid of it, in fact I wear mine proudly knowing that having it makes me part of that great secret club called "skaters"! 8-)

TashaKat
05-30-2004, 12:16 AM
Everyone's already answered your question but HEY aren't they great?

Another one with the callous and, yes, bunga pad do help but there again so do Harlicks with the lambswool and rubber tongue (I don't need to wear Bungas with them) ...... mine all but disappeared once I started wearing Harlicks :)

NickiT