View Full Version : Dress Issues

CaraSkates
04-26-2004, 12:26 PM
Hi, I'm new here. I've been skating for 10 months. I was in my first competition two weeks ago. My mom made the dress I wore for it (I'm 14) but it didn't fit very well. I wear a 6, 8 or 10 in clothes. I'm a ladies medium usually, sometimes a small, sometimes a large. Anyway, my problem with skating dresses is that they are not long enough in the girth for me. I have a 63 1/2" girth and all the dresses I've seen with that girth are a ladies L or XL. There is no way a Ladies L or XL will fit me around. A Large MIGHT but it would be kinda of loose. A ladies medium fits around but it gives me a painful wedgie.

I guess my question is, are there any skating dresses sized to be "Long" or will I have to either buy a custom one or have my mom modify a pattern (she's capable of doing that pretty easily)? I have another competition in July and I'd really like a dress before then.

Oh if anyone would be interested in a Ladies Medium, red velour with metalic sparkle designs on it long sleeve skating dress, it will probably be on Ebay in a few weeks. IT's homemade but the quality is very good, it just doesn't fit ME right.

flo
04-26-2004, 12:46 PM
Hi,
I also had a problem with Baltogs in that They were too short and I had to get an XL. I tried GK, but they did not fit very well, but I have found success with Mirella. I have usually had dresses made for me. Good luck.

Canskater
04-26-2004, 12:50 PM
Hi:

The subject of skating dresses for adults was broached in a thread last week ... the general consensus was that most mass-market, commercially available in stores type skating dresses generally do not fit most adults .... many adults (and older teens) find the same type of problem you are describing.