View Full Version : What is your biggest asset as an adult skater?

passion
03-30-2004, 12:48 PM
I'm sure all of us know what crutches we have as adult skaters (internal and external). I would like to find out from other adults what their assets are as an adult skater.

For me, noone pushes me out there to skate. It's all coming from within. It's something that I can claim as my own and it's 100% pure love for the sport. The passion drives me to skate.

Clarice
03-30-2004, 01:21 PM
One of mine is innate musicality - I'm a professional musician, so that's hardly surprising. While musicality won't be something that necessarily belongs to every adult skater, I think we all have things we've learned from our greater life experience that we can bring to our skating. Another thing I think adults are good at is knowing how to use our limited practice time to the greatest advantage. Not that the kids can't do this - some of them certainly can - but we've certainly had a lot of experience with goal setting and time management.

Mel On Ice
03-30-2004, 01:23 PM
Creativity. I like demonstrate to the kids you can think outside the box and introduce music that you wouldn't ordinarily use for skating. Jim Croce's "Roller Derby Queen" was particularly inspiring. :lol:

Sk8r4Life
03-30-2004, 02:00 PM
I think it's maturity. As an adult skater I have more maturity to really spend all my practice time actually practicing, and better time-management skills like Clarice mentioned. But maturity also helps a lot with presentation. I'm a lot more conscious of presenting to the crowd/judges and about my in-between skating than I was when I was young and just trying to make sure I landed my axel.