View Full Version : double axels!!! help!!!

2axel_hopeful
03-24-2004, 07:39 PM
i've been doing double axels and various triples for 2 years now, and i can't seem to get rid of the cheat on the end. i tend to cheat about 1/4-1/2 rotations, and i was wondering if anyone knew anything i could practice to be able to get more height, get into the rotating position faster, tighter air position, etc. im 12 now, and i haven't had any major growth spurts yet. HELP!!!!!!!!

sk8er1964
03-24-2004, 08:44 PM
I wish I could help. I have the same problem with my doubles :frus:

2axel_hopeful
03-24-2004, 08:49 PM
haha lol, it's ok. i've been through that...:-)

Mrs Redboots
03-25-2004, 02:28 AM
I'm never going to do a double axel, but a friend of mine is very close to landing hers, but half the problem is she simply doesn't believe she can do it! When you get to that stage, which sounds a bit like where you are, the secret is faith: "I CAN do this, and I'm GOING to!" Good luck - and let us know when you land one your coach is satisfied with.

NickiT
03-25-2004, 05:21 AM
I just wish I could get that last bit of rotation on my single axel at the moment.

Nicki

2axel_hopeful
03-25-2004, 07:59 AM
Thanks Mrs Redboots, I'll keep you posted ;-). And good luck on your single NickiT.

candace
03-26-2004, 07:14 AM
Maybe you can work on it off the ice. Some times that seem's to help my students to do them off the ice. Than take what your doing off the ice to on the ice. Just believe in yourslef and keep on working hard.

GoldSeals
03-27-2004, 11:04 AM
I just wish I could get that last bit of rotation on my single axel at the moment.

Nicki

Practice backspins they will get you there faster:)
Regards,GoldSeals

NickiT
03-27-2004, 01:14 PM
Practice backspins they will get you there faster:)
Regards,GoldSeals