View Full Version : coaches ?

twokidsskatemom
02-23-2004, 02:52 AM
Ok, what is a good mix between lesson time and practice time?My dd, has group and private lessons.She also tries to skate at least two freestyle sessions.The mix has been maybe 60% lessons,40 practice due to her next competion in two weeks. i was thinking 50 lessons and 50 practice was good but then i have no clue.
She wants to skate daily, her choice.She is learning so fast but she knows she needs to practice them as well to get better. She knows she cant do jumps without her crossovers getting better.She understands how one thing leads to the next thing.

thoughts, ideas?
thanks

Mrs Redboots
02-23-2004, 04:51 AM
When I started learning I was told one should practice a minimum of 2 hours for every 15 minute lesson one had. I don't always achieve that, it's more like one hour, but I do try....

On the other hand, "practice makes permanent", and one does not want to reinforce bad skating habits. But my coach, and his colleagues, despair over the sort of children who are brought to the rink just in time to put their boots on before their lesson, and removed from the ice immediately afterwards. I suppose the ideal is to have one 15-minute lesson per 2-hour patch, but whether that is feasible or not, I don't know.

Elsy2
02-23-2004, 06:34 AM
For years daughter has had 2 to 3 hours practice time for every lesson. The practice time should definitely exceed the lesson time IMO.

batikat
02-23-2004, 11:48 AM