View Full Version : Getting/losing/getting/losing jumps

KJD
02-13-2004, 11:04 AM
I'm sure that this has been posted before, but since I'm a newbie as a "skating mom with kid doing doubles" I could really use some advice/reassurance before I lose my mind. My daughter has had all her doubles relatively consistant for the last 4-5 months or so and even pretty good double/doubles. All of a sudden in the last 5 weeks.....poof! Double loop, double flip, double lutz vanished. She's now so tense about them vanishing that she's making them worse - all tight and no height/no pulling in. She has a horrible bruise on her bum, poor thing, which I think is making her even more tight.

Has anyone been through this before? She lost them about 4 weeks ago, got them back after a week or two and has lost them all over again yesterday and today. We just don't have very many high level kids training at our rink, especially when we are there and so I've no idea if this is normal or a sign that it's time for her to take up soccer. She loves this sport and is frustrated because she wants to be good and it breaks my heart because she keeps telling me "I thought I was good and now its all gone"... Is this normal? Thanks so much.

Learning that its harder to be a skating mom than skater!:??

garyc254
02-13-2004, 12:09 PM
Not that I'll have an answer since I don't coach or jump, but a few items of information might help others.

How old is your daughter?

Is she growing taller? Feet getting bigger? Etc.

Any other recent physiological changes in her?

What does her coach think?

KJD
02-13-2004, 12:24 PM
Gary,