View Full Version : Breaking bad habits

lisa9172
02-10-2004, 07:57 AM
Hi! Newbie here.

I'm looking for suggestions to help my 7 year old break her habit of looking at her feet and/or the ice. I've had her skate with a bean bag on top her head, but she won't keep it on long enough to make a difference because she feels silly. I tell her to keep her eyes above the boards, but that doesn't help for long either.

Another thing is that on FI and FO3's she swings her free leg around sticking out behind her (almost in a landing position), instead of holding it at her skating leg. I assume this has to do with the fact that she is looking at her feet, because on the rare occasion she keeps her head up, she has beautiful 3's. OTOH, she has nice, consistent brackets!

I'm not much of a skater, so any advice anyone could offer would be appreciated!

garyc254
02-10-2004, 09:12 AM
Kids often have trouble doing the right things while skating. Sometimes their intentions are good, but something else grabs their attention and .......

Your daughter probably starts concentrating on her move and that distracts her. It sounds like it's going to take a lot of reminding while she's skating.

Does she take lessons? Is her coach addressing this problem?

Sometimes having someone other than Mom (or Dad) tell them a few times will get through to them better.

You might also try videotaping your daughter. Try to get footage that shows her doing it right and wrong, then praise how "professional" she looks when she has her head and eyes up.

Since you're in St. Louis, drop me a PM. I'd be intersted to know what rink(s) you skate. I skate Kirkwood, North County, Creve Coeur, and St. Peters mostly.

Isk8NYC
02-10-2004, 09:14 AM