View Full Version : Should I give myself a raise?

Mel1977
02-02-2004, 01:17 PM
This question is for other coaches, or for parents of kids who take private lessons.

I have been teaching private lessons for four years. I charge $20.00 an hour, and have never raised it. I think in the past four years since I started coaching, have grown as a coach. Other coaches in at my club charge up to $28.00 an hour.
How often do you increase your lesson charges? I really think I deserve a raise, but don't know exactly what the "rules" are. I was thinking about going up to $22.00 an hour ($5.50 for a 15 minute lesson, up from $5.00). Does that sound fair? There are no rules or standards in our club as far as private lesson charges.
Most of my skaters are just skating for fun, doing local and state competitions. I teach basic skills - Preliminary level skaters. Some of the families have more money than others.
I know $20/hour is reasonable to begin with, so should I give myself a raise next season???

Thanks for your advice!

AshBugg44
02-02-2004, 01:44 PM
Wow that is incredibly cheap. The base rate for our coaches here is $12.50/15 minutes. That's for staff coaches. My coach is $60/hour. Do you have any credentials? Getting PSA ratings can allow you to give yourself a raise! When my coach got her Masters rating, she raised her rates.

Mel1977
02-02-2004, 01:53 PM
No, I don't have a PSA rating. Our club is fairly new and hasn't really done anything like that yet. I've looked into it, but I really don't have the time to committ to that right now, I work full time, and am having a baby in May. Coaching is what I do in my "free" time.
None of my skaters compete in the qualifying competitions anyway, so for now I really don't need it.
I myself am a Pre-Juv/Adult Silver level skater, so I have a good grasp of the basics.

Elsy2
02-02-2004, 01:53 PM
When my coach increased rates it was usually in $2 to $4 increments per hour. So I think your $2 raise is most reasonable.

icedancer2