View Full Version : The "yes I have stepped on the ice in my guards" club

Aussie Willy
02-01-2004, 03:39 AM
The thread about hitting heads prompted this one. Signing up new members NOW!!!

I am a veteran of about 5 times stepping on the ice in my guards. Last time I nearly did the splits (and I cannot do the splits). You can never get away without one of the coaches watching when this happens and then cacking themselves laughing.

Mrs Redboots
02-01-2004, 06:06 AM
It isn't always funny, though - I once saw an elderly man break his hip through doing it.....

dani
02-01-2004, 06:35 AM
First time for me was this past Friday morning! Luckly for me, just some bruising and ego problems. I am away for a competition no less!

Hugs,
Danielle

ChristianeDK
02-01-2004, 09:30 AM
I haven't done it yet but I know it happens to everybody sooner or later... - so I'm terrified!8O 8O

Black Sheep
02-01-2004, 09:56 AM
I did that once trying to play my program music and "race" the tape player. It wasn't fun. :roll:

Figureskates
02-01-2004, 10:12 AM
Ah, Yes.

For me, Lussi Rink at Lake Placid before an adult group lesson.

Huge bruise on my right elbow and right hip.

Note to self....bone bruises take like forever to heal, don't do THAT again!!!

1lutz2klutz
02-01-2004, 10:35 AM
Another one checking in- can you tell by my screen name? Only I was also carring my USFSA rule book with the binder opened as I put a page back in, so my less-than-graceful splat was followed by a snow storm of loose pages of the rule book...:oops:

icesk8er31
02-01-2004, 11:03 AM
I did mine because Elvis and Irina were at my rink and I was too busy staring at them to remember to take off my guards. How nice to fling myself to the ice in front of World Champions and Olympians, eh?

RNsk8r
02-01-2004, 11:40 AM