View Full Version : waltz jump problems....don't laugh

AstarZ41
01-24-2004, 02:46 PM
Ok, I've been skating for about 2 years and I'm working on sals and toe loops etc but I still can't do a good waltz jump! I even know what I do wrong - when I go to take off I don't push off the toe pick so my leg ends up being bent when I kick up and the jump is tiny. I think most of my lift comes from my arms. My coach has been trying to fix this by having me swing my leg back and forth by the boards and do bunny hops. I can do those fine but when it comes to actually doing a waltz I chicken out... :oops: Today I was working on waltz/toe combos and my toe loops were bigger than my waltz jumps. Does anyone else have the same problem? How do I make my mind let me do the jump the way I know its supposed to be done? I can already tell that I'm gonna die when it comes to learning axels... :?? ;)

Justine_R
01-24-2004, 03:07 PM
To jump higher on your waltz jump, you need to actaually JUMP!! Use your arms for momentum, and bring your free-leg through. Think of jumping over a box (you bring your fre leg through, not around).

Hope this helps!

Debbie S
01-24-2004, 04:10 PM
You're probably already doing this, but be sure to bend the leg you're jumping off of. The lift should really come from your takeoff leg, and your arms are supposed to be working with your leg to create the momentum, as Justine said. My problem has been that I'm throwing my arms too far away from my body and not really using the leg. One of my freestyle group lesson instructors told me that the arms should remain close to your body and only assist your motion, not create it.