View Full Version : Brand new skater

MangoTheCat
01-22-2004, 07:25 PM
Hi everybody! I'm new here to these forums. *waves*

I am also brand new to skating. I've had a grand total of three lessons so far. :) I got into the lessons because I took my daughter to the mall where our rink is, and found that I couldn't drag her away. She would've been content to sit there and watch the girls for hours I think. I asked her if she would like lessons, and she just about screamed "yes!" This of course pleased me to no end, as I have always had that "I want to be a figure skater someday" dream since I was about the age of wanting to be a princess when I grew up.

Anyway... She's 7, and I'm 29. We are having a lot of fun so far. Our lessons package includes free admission to any of the public skate sessions, so we're getting in lots of practice. Any tips for brand new skaters? (I can use all the help I can get!)

Elsy2
01-22-2004, 07:35 PM
I'm excited for you, as dreams really can come true. My only tip right now is the usual "bend your knees", as that will help with everything.

I also started skating lessons the same time as my daughter, and it has been a wonderful journey. You are young, and can accomplish much if you want. My daughter and I have done many of the same competitions over the years. Believe me when I say it's not too late to be the "ice princess". Before you know it, you'll be out there in the spotlight if that is what you want.

Mrs Redboots
01-23-2004, 04:48 AM
Welcome to the world of skating - it's the greatest sport in the world, and once you are hooked, it's for life!

My tip would be: resist, at all costs, the temptation to compare your progress with that of your daughter! It's almost inevitable that she will go faster than you - she's nearer the ice; when she falls, she'll bounce, and she won't have the fear that may hold you back. Be content with your own progress!