View Full Version : Question about skate sharpening and spin

NetExpress
01-05-2004, 08:47 PM
Hi,

I am new to figure skating (< 1 year) and to this board. I discovered that there are many good skaters here. So I hope I can get some technical questions answered here before my next lesson which is 3 days away.

For the past week, I started skipping edges on my backward 3 turns. Also my hockey stop is non-existing. So I figured that I need to have my skates sharpened. It's been 5 months since the last sharpening. Is 5-month sounds reasonable to you? ( I skate 3 hours a week ).

Coincidentally, I lost the center of my spin. (All I can do is 1-foot spin and just started scratch spin.) If I enter 1-foot spin from pivot, I get 10+ revolutions and nice center. When I enter from backward cross over, I just keep traveling. Is this related to skate sharpening? Or is it because of too much skating without supervision? ( I haven't have lessons for 3 weeks due to Xmas.)

Thanks a lot for your time.

Isk8NYC
01-05-2004, 09:27 PM
Time for a sharpening if you can't find your edges. The hockey stop is a real clue - it's all edges!

Make sure you get them sharpened by a good professional. There are many war stories about chopped toe picks, flat rockers, and uneven edges. Ask the Instructors where THEY go for sharpenings. Many skaters make appointments for sharpenings, so they don't have to drop off and pick up. Saves time in the long run.

Good luck.

TreSk8sAZ
01-05-2004, 11:53 PM
I can't say exactly how long you should go between sharpenings, as it depends on the skills you are working on. The person who sharpens my skates tells me no longer than a month and a half-- that's skating for about six hours a week and doing through a lutz (working on Axel and starting doubles). I'd imagine for your level it should be closer to three months, but 5 just seems a bit long.