View Full Version : Motivation?

emyh
01-02-2004, 04:44 PM
It's been a really long time since I've posted here (and skated). I've been skating on and off for about the past two years. When I first started skating about four or five years ago, I really had a DRIVE because I really wanted to compete. It seems though, that over the years, it became obvious that wasn't something I wanted to do. I've lost my drive over the years, especially when I had to reprioritize and put academics above skating, but definitely not my love for the sport. I really wish to find something to really awaken that desire to excel again.

I've toyed with the idea of joining a synchro team or start testing, but I'm moving in 6 months (I'm graduating) to either NY/MA/CA and it seems pointless and fruitless in such little time. I've also been "stuck" at the same point in skating for a while (I was/am working on my axel) and the sessions with my coach seem to be monotonous and dull. She doesn't seem to drive me that much either, or care, and I've thought of changing coaches.

Even worse, all the friends that I acquired through skating have seemed to quit when I came back. I guess it wouldn't be that bad, if I was a child or adult (there seems there is so little people in that category for "young adults" who started lated). I thought about taking public lessons, but I don't know if that will be a waste of my money since I've passed the level of most of the classes.

I apologize for the long post, especially since I know I'm not really acquainted with most people here. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

luna_skater
01-02-2004, 05:56 PM