View Full Version : Attn. male adult skaters

Mel1977
12-31-2003, 12:25 PM
My husband is interested in taking skating lessons, which as a skater and coach myself, makes me happy because it will give us something to do together, since he comes along to all my competitions anyway.
Anyway, he could use some inspiration...he's only 24, but is convinced it's too late be good enough to actually compete. Of course I know that isn't true...

So all you adult males out there...when did you start skating? What are you working on, and how quickly did you advance? Do you compete?

Also, he's a big guy, 6'3", about 250 pounds. Will that work for him or against him?

Please share your story and convince my hubby that he should take lessons!!!

Thanks!

mikawendy
12-31-2003, 02:06 PM
Good for him! Maybe I should introduce him to my husband so that the "skating bug" will spread. :D

I have seen a number of male skaters who are big (either tall or tall and wide ;) ) and they get around fine (and in some cases better than I do!)

Being tall could be an advantage in pairs or ice dance (greater selection of partners who don't tower over him). Weight might be a consideration in what kind of boots he buys.

My guess is that your husband will be VERRRY popular with any adult ladies who are looking for a dance partner or a pairs partner. (The general reaction I've seen to new adult men me is "ooh! a man! and he skates! does he want to try dance?" because there are fewer adult men than ladies in my area.)

BTW, 24 is NOT too late to start. He's a spring chicken! Some of the men I know started skating in their mid- to late 30s or even later than that.

Figureskates
12-31-2003, 02:07 PM
I am 6 foot, 172 pound male and I started skating again at 52.

We have a male at my rink who is 6' 6'' and he figure skates but hasn't lately since he injured himself skiing.