View Full Version : Toe-loop... arrgh!

tidesong
07-12-2002, 11:46 PM
Hello, I've just started trying my double toe-loop and can barely get 1 1/2 rounds out of it... its so frustrating because I can't get the timing at all... and where does the lift come from? My right leg is supposed to give most of the lift and I feel that the tapping toe is blocking my way so I just get horribly confused...

TashaKat
07-13-2002, 07:24 AM
[quote:b1432050d0="tidesong"]Hello, I've just started trying my double toe-loop and can barely get 1 1/2 rounds out of it... its so frustrating because I can't get the timing at all... and where does the lift come from? My right leg is supposed to give most of the lift and I feel that the tapping toe is blocking my way so I just get horribly confused...[/quote:b1432050d0]

Hi :) First of all I'm NOT an expert on this, can only get 1.75 rotation at the most and haven't done it in a while because I injured my knee. The way I have been shown may be different to others HOWEVER ..... the bit that you said about the picking toe blocking is EXACTLY what my coach tries to get me out of doing!

First of all they reworked my singles. They had me doing BO pivots with the left toe (I jump CCW) in before jumping as the BLOCK comes when you don't let the right leg come up to and past the left. If you think about it ..... if you just pull the right leg into and across the left you're 'stuck' and will need to use your shoulders to try and make the turn which is when you'll throw yourself off and won't get full rotation. You also need to commit the cardinal sin of letting your shoulders SLIGHTLY pre-rotate .... again, if your left arm is stuck in front you will have no-where to turn, a SMALL amount of rotation before you jump gives you the 'opening' bring your right side through.