View Full Version : Looking For Parents To Participate In A Book

FigureSk8writer
12-27-2003, 02:17 PM
I am currently writing a book about figure skating, and looking for parents who are interested in responding to a variety of questions I have about their involvement in the sport.

I'd enjoy hearing from people who are new to the sport or have been involved with skating for a number of years, and participate in ISI or U.S. Figure Skating.

Anyone who is interested can contact me at sk8writer@earthlink.net for more information.

FSWer
12-27-2003, 05:59 PM
Your writing a skating book? Could you please give me a few pointers? Like how do I know what's legall to use in my book,how do I know what the true is about skaters,if you don't have contact with skaters can you get pictures in your book? things like that.

FSWer
12-27-2003, 06:09 PM
BTW. welcome to chat.

CanAmSk8ter
12-27-2003, 10:18 PM
I'm also a writer- unpublished as of yet, but I can probably give you a few pointers. There's a reason most of the people who write skating books are people who are involved in the sport in some way, either as a parent, a skater, coach, etc.- it gives you credibility. By that I mean that someone reading the book has a reason to believe you know what you're talking about. Unless you're a professional writer with a lot of connections in the sport, it's pretty much necessary to be involved in the sport somehow. It's very difficult to get a book published in any field- publishers don't want to take chances on books they don't think people would read, and unfortunately I think a book written by a skating fan with no writing background and no real connection to the sport would fall into that category. I know a lot of very knowledgeable fans who probably could write good skating books, but they most likely would not get them published.