View Full Version : Help with Edges

Keely
12-14-2003, 03:36 PM
Hi. In our lessons we learned FI and FO edges (I'm an adult beginner) and I want to practise BI and BO edges during the break (lessons don't start again until mid-January.) I have Petkovitch's book which describes all of this but it's confusing to visualize and I'm unclear on something:

When we did forward edges, the upper body position after the push-off was always turned "out of the circle" so to speak (For either a LO edge or a RI edge, the shoulders would start out rotated CW, left arm in front, right arm back.) With me so far? Does that sound right?

The upper body position --relative to the semicircle -- is the same whether doing an inside or outside forward edge... and then the free foot and shoulders/arms change position during the arc in preparation for the transition.) Yes?

With the back edges, I'm getting confused as my book seems to indicate that BI and BO edges don't follow the same system. When I do a BI edge, after the pushoff, is my upper body rotated to face out of the circle or into the circle? When I do a BO edge, is it the same? Petkevitch seems to have BI one way and BO the other way and I'm not sure why.

If this question makes no sense to anyone I totally understand. I just read it over and it seems incomprehensible. But I want to practise these over the break. (I've had a devil of a time mastering the movement for the forward edges because I worked so hard at my crossovers... my arms/shoulders want to hug the circle as this feels more natural and the "formal" edges feel like I'm twisted the wrong way.)

Any insight?

techskater
12-14-2003, 04:09 PM
I'll try to explain them but not on those terms as you are describing because I don't understand quite what you are getting at.