View Full Version : Skating Pregnant

Mel1977
11-20-2003, 09:01 PM
I'm going on three months pregnant. I would love to hear how long and to what extent those of you who have children skated during your pregnancy. I'm a coach as well as a skater. I need to be on the ice coaching through mid-March, but I'm just wondering about my own skating, what kind of things are safe, and how far I can safely push myself.

I've been skating for ten years and am very secure on my feet (for now). I am skating in our holiday exhibition next Tuesday, and plan on taking my adult silver moves test on Dec. 8. I'm not showing except for a "roll" that I already had anyway. :lol: That's about all I plan on doing until after.

So is it safe to jump, spin, etc? For how long? I can do up through lutz, but my exhibition program only has toe loops, salchows, and loops.

I'd love to hear your experiences and stories!

Thanks!

luna_skater
11-20-2003, 10:32 PM
A skater on my synchro team is in a very similar situation. She was planning to skate until January, but now her doctor has advised her that the risk may not be worth it. It might be a bigger concern in synchro, where you are skating quite fast in very close proximity. Major injuries can happen if there is a big pile-up. On the other hand, on my old team a girl was 5 months pregnant when she finished up the season. However, she was only 16, and kept it a secret from us! 8O Sorry I don't have any medical information for you. :)

Chico
11-20-2003, 11:20 PM