View Full Version : skating gloves?

mikawendy
07-05-2002, 06:39 PM
:?: hi everyone, I was mikawendy on FSWorld (mostly a lurker but still incensed at how they handled the "transition"). Anyway, I'm new to skating (still learning crossovers) and was wondering if there are special gloves just for figure skaters? I think I read about them on the internet somewhere. If these so-called "skating gloves" exist, how are they different than regular winter gloves? (I wear the stretchy knit one-size-fits-most kind) Are they more padded?

tazsk8s
07-05-2002, 10:16 PM
No, the "skating" gloves I've seen are basically the same as your one-size-fits-most stretch knit gloves. I've given up paying $7 or 8 at the skate shop when I can stock up for $1 or 2 when they go on sale in the winter or on clearance in the spring!

Anita18
07-05-2002, 10:55 PM
Gloves are gloves. Don't spend extra on 'em if they're just gonna keep your hands warm like every other glove on the market. The most annoying thing about gloves is that I can never find them in the summer! They're all gone, except for in the sporting goods stores, and they're like $15 each there! 8O 8O 8O I've learned my lesson - next winter, I'm gonna stock up!

TashaKat
07-06-2002, 12:29 AM
[quote:0dac3d2b60="mikawendy"]:?: hi everyone, I was mikawendy on FSWorld (mostly a lurker but still incensed at how they handled the "transition"). Anyway, I'm new to skating (still learning crossovers) and was wondering if there are special gloves just for figure skaters? I think I read about them on the internet somewhere. If these so-called "skating gloves" exist, how are they different than regular winter gloves? (I wear the stretchy knit one-size-fits-most kind) Are they more padded?[/quote:0dac3d2b60]

Hi :)