View Full Version : Back to skating

jp1andOnly
10-18-2003, 10:30 AM
Hi all,

Well, I've finally saved enough money to get back on the ice. I've dropped about 50lbs and my health is pretty darn good. I'm working full time and going to school for my masters so it's busy. I figure this would be a good way to get my stress level down and to get back doing something I enjoy.

I managed to find a club close to my area that has Adult time at a time I can actually attend. Most programs are offered late in the evening, and as a teacher I'm up at 5:30 am so there is no way I could skate till 11pm. Yah for Saturday morning!

So what tips can you all offer me after 2 long years off the ice? I just found the program last night so I havent even registered or found a coach. I'll check it out today and get all the details settled. I think I'll mainly be working on dance and skills but if I'm feeling ambitious I might get some freeskate in there.

I'm gonna be sore tomorrow :)

Jennifer

Lutzgirl
10-18-2003, 02:04 PM
wow! 2 years off the ice!
What level are u at???
Well sure have fun and after count ur bruises not your blessingz!:d:d

Elsy2
10-18-2003, 03:14 PM
Wow...I think the biggest change will be that weight loss, good for you! I'm just wondering if everything will feel a bit different. I mean you have a whole new body, and I'll be curious to hear how that effects how you feel on the ice.

I just had a friend show up today after a year or so.....he was awesome on the ice! At first he said he wasn't going to jump. That lasted 20 minutes, as he went through his singles nicely. He's got great knees! He's no spring chicken either at 50 years old....

Now two years is even longer....so....

Just go out, start slow and do the basics....I think you'll surprise yourself and maybe accomplish more than you thought.

Let us know how it goes!

GoldSeals
10-18-2003, 03:16 PM