View Full Version : Canasta Tango

JDC1
09-09-2003, 10:16 AM
Okay, I'm not that good at reading the dance charts and I just got taught some of the basics for the Canasta Tango. So I have a quick question - I recall part of what I was taught was a LProgressive/ then is it Left cross over or step - then cross roll? I recall the beginning as Progressive, chasse, step, slide..correct?

Thanks.

Mrs Redboots
09-09-2003, 10:29 AM
Yes, after you have done whatever you do to get going (left, right, left, right, or equivalent), the steps are:

LFO
RFI progressive/run
RFI chasse
LFO swing
RFO
LFI slide chasse
RFO swing
LFO
RFI slide chasse
LFO
RFI progressive/run
LFO
RFO cross-roll swing

and restart.

I haven't put the beat values in because I can't think without the music. Almost all 2 beats, except the swing rolls which are 2 beats with the leg extended behind, then 2 beats with the leg extended forwards. And the runs and the first chasse are faster, but I can't think! The last two edges, you must hold the LFO for 2 beats, then the RFO cross-roll swing is 2 beats with the leg behind, and 2 with it extended in front (my coach has drummed that one into me as I rushed it so!).

Reverse Kilian hold; Tango music.

JDC1
09-09-2003, 10:46 AM
This was only my 2nd dance and when my temporary coach switched sides I was like "what?" and then he explained. I'm going to practice tonight with this chart!!

dani
09-09-2003, 11:55 AM
Hi! Welcome to dance!

It may not help you yet, but the timing is the only timing it can be if you listen to the music. Group the steps into "phrases" - for example the LOF, RIF pr, LOF, RIF ch takes up a phrase. Since there are 4 steps and it is a phrase they are all 1 beat. So going from Mrs. Redboots description, the breakdown is:

LFO
RFI progressive/run
LFO
RFI chasse

LFO swing

RFO
LFI slide chasse

RFO swing

LFO
RFI slide chasse

LFO
RFI progressive/run
LFO

RFO cross-roll swing